Regulatory Bodies

The Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)

The Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) was established on 8th June, 1993 under the Securities and Exchange Commission Act, 1993. The Chairman and Members of the Commission are appointed by the government and have overall responsibility to formulate  securities legislation and and administer as well..  The Commission is a statutory body and attached to the Ministry of Finance. 

Mission of the SEC is to:

  •    Protect the interests of securities investors. 
  •    Develop and maintain fair, transparent and efficient securities markets. 
  •    Ensure proper issuance of securities and compliance with securities laws.


The Commission's main functions are

  • Regulating the business of the Stock Exchanges or any other securities market.
  • Registering and regulating the business of stock-brokers, sub-brokers, share transfer agents, merchant bankers and managers of   issues, trustee of trust deeds, registrar of an issue, underwriters, portfolio managers, investment advisers and other intermediaries in the securities market
  • Registering, monitoring and regulating of collective investment scheme including all forms of mutual funds.
  • Monitoring and regulating all authorized self regulatory organizations in the securities market.
  • Prohibiting fraudulent and unfair trade practices relating to securities trading in any securities market.
  • Promoting investors' education and providing training for intermediaries of the securities market.
  • Prohibiting insider trading in securities. 
  • Regulating the substantial acquisition of shares and take-over of companies.
  • Undertaking investigation and inspection, inquiries and audit of any issuer or dealer of securities, the Stock Exchanges and   intermediaries and any self regulatory organization in the securities market.
  • Conducting research and publishing information.


The Dhaka Stock Exchange (DSE)

The Dhaka Stock Exchange (DSE) was incorporated in 1954 and the formal trading was started in 1956. DSE is registered as a Public Limited Company and its activities are regulated by its Articles of Association rules & regulations and bye-laws along with the Securities and Exchange Ordinance, 1969, Companies Act 1994 & Securities & Exchange Commission Act, 1993. At present, there are 448 securities listed with the DSE.